Gears 5 Esports

Gears 5 Esports

With the release of Gears 5 only a couple weeks away (even sooner for those of you with Game Pass Ultimate), the launch of the 2019-2020 Gears Esports Season will be here before we know it. Full program details will be announced on Friday, September 13th, but here’s what you need to know to form your team and start practicing before official play kicks off on September 22nd.

Follow @EsportsGears on Twitter and check regularly to stay up-to-date!

Gears 5 launches worldwide on September 10th for Xbox One, Windows 10, and with Xbox Game Pass with four day early access on Gears 5’s Ultimate Edition or with your Xbox Game Pass Ultimate membership.

What is Gears 5 Esports?

The Coalition and Gears Esports, in partnership with PGL, are excited to announce the 2019-2020 Season of Gears 5 Esports.

Kicking off with the launch of Gears 5 worldwide on September 10th for Xbox One, Windows 10, and with Xbox Game Pass, players from all over the world will be able to sign up and compete in regional ladders and online tournaments for weekly cash prizes. The top teams from every region – North America, Central America, Europe, Asia Pacific and, now, South America – will also be awarded with travel coverage to major international events, where they’ll have the opportunity to play for massive prize pools against the top teams in the game.

The 2019-2020 Season will feature three major events leading into a World Championship, as well as a number of regional events. Keeping in step with previous seasons, every major event will be open to all teams, meaning anyone has the chance to walk home with the trophy, and include side-tournaments with their own prizing. Attend as a spectator, a player new to the scene or a Gears vet and experience the passion and excitement that sets Gears apart.

New for Gears 5, the very best teams from North America, Central America and Europe can also qualify for an online Pro League. In addition to guaranteed prizing for qualifying, every Pro League team is automatically provided with travel coverage to major events and the opportunity to compete for divisional prize pools. Teams that qualify for the Pro League will be removed from regional ladders and will be ineligible for weekly online tournaments, allowing new teams to rise to the top. Throughout the season, these top amateur teams will have the opportunity to break into the Pro League via online qualification, while the lowest ranking Pro League teams from each division will be forced to fight for their spots.

What game modes will be played?

Gears 5 Esports will be played on Escalation.

How old do I need to be to participate in Gears 5 Esports?

Players 18 years of age or older are eligible to compete in all online and live events, including Pro League.

Players 17 years of age may participate in all live events and online competitions, including Pro League, with parental consent.

Players 16 years of age may compete in all other online competitions with parental consent. These players may also compete in live events with parental consent unless prohibited by local law, which is currently the case for events in Mexico.

Players aged 13 to 15 may compete in online competition with parental consent, but are not eligible to compete in Pro League. These players may also attend live events as a spectator with the direct supervision of a parent or guardian, however they are not eligible to compete.

What maps should I practice at launch?

The 2019-2020 Gears Esports season will be kicking off in conjunction with the release of Gears 5. All 7 launch maps will be eligible for competitive online play beginning September 22nd, 2019.

The starting map list for Gears 5 Esports will be:

  • District
  • Training Grounds
  • Exhibit
  • Icebound
  • Asylum
  • Bunker
  • Vasgar

What region do I belong in?

To ensure the competitive integrity of the program and best experience for all players, Gears 5 Esports will support five competitive regions. All team members must reside in the same region.

Please review the following to confirm what region you belong to:

North America:

  • Canada
  • United States

Latin America

  • Belize
  • Costa Rica
  • Dominican Republic
  • El Salvador
  • Guatemala
  • Haiti
  • Honduras
  • Nicaragua
  • Panama
  • Mexico
  • Puerto Rico


  • Albania
  • Andorra
  • Armenia
  • Austria
  • Belgium
  • Bosnia Herzegovina
  • Bulgaria
  • Croatia
  • Cyprus
  • Czech Republic
  • Denmark
  • Estonia
  • Faroe Islands
  • Finland
  • France
  • Germany
  • Greece
  • Greenland
  • Hungary
  • Iceland
  • Isle of Man
  • Israel
  • Italy
  • Latvia
  • Liechtenstein
  • Lithuania
  • Macedonia
  • Malta
  • Moldova
  • Monaco
  • Montenegro
  • Netherlands
  • Norway
  • Poland
  • Portugal
  • Republic of Ireland
  • Romania
  • Russia
  • San Marino
  • Saudi Arabia
  • Serbia
  • Slovakia
  • Slovenia
  • Spain
  • Sweden
  • Switzerland
  • Turkey
  • Ukraine
  • United Arab Emirates
  • United Kingdom
  • Vatican City

South America

  • Argentina
  • Bolivia
  • Brazil
  • Chile
  • Colombia
  • Ecuador
  • French Guiana
  • Guyana
  • Paraguay
  • Peru
  • Suriname
  • Uruguay
  • Venezuela

Asia Pacific

  • Australia
  • Bangladesh
  • Bhutan
  • Brunei
  • Cambodia
  • China
  • Fiji
  • French Polynesia
  • Guam
  • Hong Kong
  • India
  • Indonesia
  • Japan
  • Laos
  • Macau
  • Malaysia
  • Maldives
  • Mongolia
  • Myanmar
  • Nepal
  • New Caledonia
  • New Zealand
  • Northern Mariana Islands
  • Pakistan
  • Papua New Guinea
  • Philippines
  • Samoa
  • Singapore
  • Solomon Islands
  • South Korea
  • Sri Lanka
  • Taiwan
  • Thailand
  • Timor-Leste
  • Vanuatu
  • Vietnam